Why do I want a freedom lifestyle? (Day 2 #10DBC #freedomproject)

inner-peaceWhy?

Pondering this question I immediately reflected on the scene in Dreamworks movie “Kung Fu Panda” which found Master Shifu in a cave, far away from all disturbances (or so he thought), calling on inner peace only to be interrupted by the very person that forced him to draw for it. Sometimes my life resembles that very scene, and I yearn for inner peace; or just that “feel good”  down on the inside feeling that so many reference.

After working in a financial institution in mainly administrative positions over a period of twenty years, I now find myself “unemployed”.  Suddenly I find myself with nothing but time on my hands and the ever demanding question of “what’s next?”.  To which comes an equally desperate response of “I don’t know”.

The one thing I do know is that I have been (still am) enjoying tremendously the freedom to be present for my family, to collect my child from school and enjoy after school conversations; impromptu lunch dates or early dinners; tasks as simple as running errands without the manic rush not to exceed a lunch hour and not having to ask for time off.

Its only recently that I have been able to articulate my “why(s)”. Why do I want to live the freedom lifestyle? I want to live the freedom lifestyle so that I can be present, present for my family and present for me. I have experienced more “inner peace” during these few months of unemployment than my twenty years of employment.

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 2 http://suitcaseentrepreneur.com/10DBC-Day-2

blog-challenge-badge-12

 

Leave a Reply

