If not now, when? (Day 1 of #10DBC)

If not now, when? Over the years I have attempted many projects, declared new resolutions and chartered new courses for my life; all in an effort to better myself.  Only to have weeks turn into months, months to years and the only thing I managed to accomplish was a long list of “woulda, coulda, shoulda”.  Needless to say; the list was not as a result of information shortage, desire or resource but simply what I coined my “BPC”.

  1. B – Belief: ideas and concepts would come to me and I would get all excited about the prospect of finally getting my life together, making valuable contribution to my existence; only for it to fizzle out because I did not believe I was good enough, skilled enough or talented enough to make it happen.
  2. P – Patience: In those rare moments when I was able to convince myself that I was good enough, skilled enough and talented enough to accomplish the change I desired, I struggled to endure.  Becoming impatient not only with the progress but the process thus allowing doubt to enter the dance uninvited and unannounced.
  3. C – Consistency: Once doubt appeared consistency was never too far behind. I would become even more distracted lose focus on what I had set out to accomplish and end up looking at the progress and tactics of others having convinced myself their way is much better.

Why am I holding back?  Deep down I know it has to do with my belief or lack there of in myself and abilities.  I can see the proverbial “big picture” but the little steps that will get me there are blurred.

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 1

http://thefreedomplan.rocks/ten

blog-challenge-badge-12

Leave a Reply

